“The Glass of Wine” Johaness Vermeer

Due to the fact that this will be my last article, I have thought that it might be better to leave the curiosities and best parts to the end. In this article I am going to talk to you about some interesting things I have found about my painting and I hope you enjoy them.

First of all I would like to tell you if you know how big the painting is. Why am I telling you this? Well, because when I began working on it, I thought that it was pretty big, however, it was not until later that I realized how small it is. You can see it below:

"The Glass of Wine"

Johaness Vermeer- 17th century

You might now probably be thinking the same as me. How can it be so small? I think that this happens because usually we chack the online and they look bigger than what we think and when we realize how small they are, we think that it is impossible. The paintings size is: 65 x 77 cm.

Another curiosity is that when I first began working on “The Glass of Wine” I was not sure, whether I was doing the right painting, due to the fact that there is a very similar painting of Vermeer “The Girl with the Wine Glass”. You can see below that in fact, they look very similar:

"The Glass of Wine"

Johaness Vermeer- 17th century

"The Girl with the Wine Glass"

Johaness Vermeer- 17th century

As you can see, the name of the paintings is very similar and the tiled florr and the stained glass are both very similar. Important to meantion is the fact that wine appears in both paintings, as well as the same wine pitcher. We can see that although it is true that a third person has been introduced, the man is not wearing a hat, the woman does not have a headdress and we can see her face. Many of the characteristics remain similar: the window is open and as we have said in a previous article, this was a symbol of temperance; the wine, which was a forbidden pleasure and a painting hanging at the back of the wall.

Finally, I just want to insert a song related to the 17th period so that you can get an idea of what kind of music was listened and played.

\”The Lady Nevils Delight\”

To conclude, I just want to add that I hope you have get a wider overview about the painting of “The Glass of Wine” as well as about the period because sometimes, when we learn about an artist the period has an important influence. If you hve any doubts, just write some comments I am pleased to help you.

References:

